International Virology Congress and interna­tional Congress of Bacteriology, Applied Microbiology (BAM) & Congress of Mycology:

The first International Congress for Microbiology was held in Paris in 1930. At the time of the 10th International Con­gress of Microbiology held in Mexico in 1970 the Executive Committee decided to create three sections covering the fields of Bacteri-ology, Virology and Mycology. Subsequently these sections became three separate divisions of IUMS possessing complete autonomy in the conduct of their affairs and the organization of their International Congresses.

All bids must include a letter from the responsible officer in the National Committee or Host Society giving an undertaking that they will adhere to all the IUMS Congress Guidelines. This letter must be included in the copy of the bid documentation sent to the Secretary-General of IUMS. No bid will be considered without this signed undertaking. For the guidelines click here.

The next IUMS congresses will be in Singapore 2017 (visit the website www.iums2017singapore.coml).

In Montreal the IUMS Executive Board decided to have the 2020 congresses in Daejon (South Korea). Bids for 2023 can be submitted to the Secretary General. These bids will be considered by the Executive Board at their meeting in Singapore in 2017,

Previous International Virology Congresses were:

1968 Helsinki 1993 Glasgow
1971 Budapest 1996 Jerusalem
1975 Madrid 1999 Sydney
1978 The Haque 2002 Paris
1981 Strasbourg 2005 San Francisco
1984 Sendai 2008 Istanbul
1987 Edmonton 2011 Sapporo
1990 Berlin 2014  Montreal

Previous International Bacteriology & Applied Microbiology (BAM) & Mycology Congresses were:

1973 Jerusalem 1996 Jerusalem
1974 Tokyo 1999 Sydney
1978 Munich 2002 Paris
1982 Boston 2005 San Francisco
1986 Manchester 2008 Istanbul
1990 Osaka 2011 Sapporo
1994 Prague 2014 Montreal